On February 24, the innovative and boundary-pushing NYC-based producer Hot Sugar (a.k.a. Nick Koenig) will release his forthcoming album, God’s Hand, on Break World Records. God’s Hand is his long-awaited first full-length release after a series of EPs and mixtapes, which have been described as “eerie and devastating” (SPIN). Comprised of 16 original songs, the new LP expands upon Koenig’s production style of “associative music” where he records his surroundings and other non-traditional sources and processes the recordings into samples, which serve as building blocks for the songs he creates. Today, Complex premiered the first new track “Trauma,” calling it “a serene, warm textured track that will transport you to near-fantasy worlds..”
For his new album, Koenig – who has established a name for himself in the hip-hop underground through his productions for The Roots, Das Racist, Fat Tony, Kitty (formerly Kitty Pryde), Big Baby Gandhi, Antwon, and more – recorded everything from ’snow melting’ to ‘Neil deGrasse Tyson thinking’ using state-of-the-art recording technology. Check out trailer for God’s Hand, which has “Mac speech” running through the dizzying list of source material he used to create the album HERE.
Prefix said Hot Sugar is a producer “whose work is instantly identifiable,” while FACT called him an “otherworldly character that – while outside the familiar scope of most hip-hop – is reminiscent of indie rap’s salad days.” Koenig has recently contributed music to Comedy Central’s ‘Broad City’ and a handful of other shows and was nominated for a GRAMMY for his production on The Roots’ ‘Undun.’ Hot Sugar’s penchant for creative and boundary-pushing visuals has further cemented his place as one of the web’s most innovative beat-makers. Whether through his unique music videos or interactive web experiences, Koenig’s music exists beyond the traditional realm of audio and becomes a fully immersive adventure.
1. “Trauma”
2. “Raining Blood”
3. “Mayday”
4. “Sinkies”
5. “Beer Cans and Bubblegum”
6. “Athena”
7. “The Child They Left Behind”
8. “Do What Thou Wilt”
9. “And the Walls Came Tumbling Down”
10. “Slaughter”
11. “Not Afraid to Die”
12. “Pills”
13. “Vengeance”
14. “Dead Inside”
15. “No One Will Know Where I Went”
16. “You’ll See Them In Your Sleep”